Author Topic: FSK  (Read 16206 times)

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2170
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: FSK
« Reply #15 on: 2012-01-17, 14:21:06 »
That must be it....we of course left the existing keyer cable installed. That explains the
problem, thanks, Mike!

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX

sm2sum

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: FSK
« Reply #16 on: 2012-01-20, 10:49:55 »
Does Fsk work with RRC-1258 ver 1 also ?
If so is settings different ?

73,s Peder
K3 twin
Mobile internet
Dovado router

sm2o

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2666
    • View Profile
    • sm2oan
    • Email
Re: FSK
« Reply #17 on: 2012-01-20, 10:57:07 »
Yes it should work with ver1 also with the same settings. The only difference is that the 3.5 mm plug is not there so the connection have to be done via the I/O connector (RJ-45).

73 de mike

sm2sum

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: FSK
« Reply #18 on: 2012-01-23, 15:13:47 »
Mike,
very easy and works great
same as earlier posted
Pin 6  (Out1) ----> TS480 Remote mini din Pin 8 (FSK)
Pin 8  (GND ) ----> TS480 Remote mini din Pin 2 (GND)

Tnx and 73


Peder :)
K3 twin
Mobile internet
Dovado router

PY1KN

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: FSK
« Reply #19 on: 2012-01-26, 13:38:12 »
'Mitch and Mike,

On my TS 480 Fsk sometimes wors well,, sometimes transmits a continuous tone. I was figuring it was a RFI issue, but now I'll check my keyer cable.

I am not sure, but I may have used a common stereo cable.

Marcelo, PY1KN

PY1KN

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: FSK
« Reply #20 on: 2012-01-27, 03:52:46 »
No, in my case it can't be the cable. Checking the manual I saw that this only occurs with Out1 and my FSK is wired to Out0. Is that correct Mike?

Back to RFI checking.

Marcelo PY1KN

sm2o

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2666
    • View Profile
    • sm2oan
    • Email
Re: FSK
« Reply #21 on: 2012-01-27, 08:59:27 »
Yes Marcelo

The Out0 is no connected in parallell so you should not not get that problem.


73 de mike

ZP9EH

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: FSK
« Reply #22 on: 2012-02-12, 20:00:06 »
I am thinking about purchasing the Remote Rig setup to control a K3 from a PC (not a K3/0). I love RTTY and can understand how to use FSK with MMTTY/COMFSK. What I am not sure about is WHERE the received audio is available?

Is the speaker jack on the control 1258 the only place to access the audio stream? If I route the audio from there to a SignaLink USB card for decoding, is the voltage level low enough to be safe? How do I hear the audio that MMTTY is decoding?

If one of you is using a SignaLink USB, where did you get the audio for it?

Thank you for your help,
Steve ZP9EH

sm2o

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2666
    • View Profile
    • sm2oan
    • Email
Re: FSK
« Reply #23 on: 2012-02-12, 20:45:44 »
Hi

The easisest way is just to split the audio from the 3.5 speaker jack. Thats how I do my self I use the signalink USB.
It also possible to connect a cable from the signalink to the TTL jack where audio is present between pin 1 and 6

73 de mike

rockyjones

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: FSK
« Reply #24 on: 2012-03-10, 20:23:34 »
I was looking at hooking up FSK but I seem to have a problem doing this with the control unit ...

- in I/O settings  - set USB DTR as CW - select "COM FSK"

I don't have COM FSK as an option; just Com 0, Com 1, or Com 2.  I have ComFSK listed in Windows Device Manager but don't have the option in "IO Settings - USB DTR as CW".  Any ideas of what I have done incorrectly?

Joe W4WT
W4WT

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2170
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: FSK
« Reply #25 on: 2012-03-13, 09:29:50 »
Joe,

I am not sure what you are looking for. Please look at the most current manual, pages 78-83.

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX

rockyjones

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: FSK
« Reply #26 on: 2012-03-13, 21:47:06 »
Sorry, let me be more clear...

I'm looking at my Control RRC-1258 IO Settings.  When I click on the drop down to the right of "USB DTR as CW", my options are ONLY Com 0, Com 1, or Com 2.  I DO NOT have Com FSK as an option.  If I look in my Windows 7 Device Manager under Ports (Com & LPT), I see Com , Com 1, Com 2, AND Com FSK listed.  So, my problem is I can't select Com FSK in IO Ports because I don't have the option there.

Joe W4WT


W4WT

sm2o

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2666
    • View Profile
    • sm2oan
    • Email
Re: FSK
« Reply #27 on: 2012-03-13, 22:08:15 »
You do not have to select it anywhere in the Control-RRC, COM FFSK is always active, but you must select what output you want to use for FSK/RTTY in the Radio-RRC.

73 de mike


rockyjones

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: FSK
« Reply #28 on: 2012-03-14, 00:03:28 »
Oh!!! (light bulb goes on).  For some reason, I had read something in the forums that made me think I must select COMFSK for the "USB DTR as CW" option rather than Com0,1, or 2.

Thanks, I'll give it a try and see if I can get RTTY going soon.

73,

Joe W4WT


"You do not have to select it anywhere in the Control-RRC, COM FFSK is always active, but you must select what output you want to use for FSK/RTTY in the Radio-RRC."
W4WT