Author Topic: Can a FT2000 control a FT9000  (Read 4593 times)

Fred VE3PIE

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
    • Email
Can a FT2000 control a FT9000
« on: 2011-11-07, 06:30:18 »
At home in Toronto I have a yaesu FT9000D and  beam antenna with a yeasu rotator.
I have  a yaesu FT2000 in a apartment in florida. Can I use this setup and operate using the FT2000 to control the FT9000?
Is it also possible to setup the 1216H webswitch to control the yaesu rotator?
Fred VE3PIE

sm2o

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2870
    • View Profile
    • sm2oan
    • Email
Re: Can a FT2000 control a FT9000
« Reply #1 on: 2011-11-07, 14:29:40 »
Hi

We have not tested to control a FT9000 from a FT-2000. Maybe there is someone out there who have done it ?

The webswitch 1216H supports DCU-1 protocol which also the Yaesu rotators with the RS-232 interfce does. Proably it's also possible to use our analog rotator interface 1216L but then you have to open the controlbox and connect it inside there.

73 de mike

Fred VE3PIE

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Can a FT2000 control a FT9000
« Reply #2 on: 2011-11-15, 08:14:55 »
What do you think the chances of being successful with these 2 rigs. Do I need to buy the Yaesu twin combination ? What is unique to this combination compared to the regular MKIIs.
If I do purchase it and it does not work, do you you have a return or refund policy?
Fred
« Last Edit: 2011-11-15, 08:16:49 by VE3PIE »

ON4AOI

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 295
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Can a FT2000 control a FT9000
« Reply #3 on: 2011-11-16, 20:43:42 »
Hi Mike,

>>>>>>> Proably it's also possible to use our analog rotator interface 1216L but then you have to open the controlbox and connect it inside there.
73 de mike<<<<<<<

This is possible I have done it with a G-450C rotator from YAESU with the 1216L

BUT

the 1216L is NOT working like it should be because the potmeter voltage is only between 0.1 and 1.2 V
this is to LOW for the AD conversion. (works perfect between 0.5 and 12V input )
I have emailed JAN about it to add also a selectable AD resoltion example 0.1 to 2.5 Volt and 0.5 to 12V
to make it work with all rotators but since he is not the boss ............................
its probably on a todo list

Guy ON4AOI

Jan (Microbit)

  • Software Developer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1808
    • View Profile
Re: Can a FT2000 control a FT9000
« Reply #4 on: 2011-11-21, 09:01:02 »
Hi Mike,

>>>>>>> Proably it's also possible to use our analog rotator interface 1216L but then you have to open the controlbox and connect it inside there.
73 de mike<<<<<<<

This is possible I have done it with a G-450C rotator from YAESU with the 1216L

BUT

the 1216L is NOT working like it should be because the potmeter voltage is only between 0.1 and 1.2 V
this is to LOW for the AD conversion. (works perfect between 0.5 and 12V input )
I have emailed JAN about it to add also a selectable AD resoltion example 0.1 to 2.5 Volt and 0.5 to 12V
to make it work with all rotators but since he is not the boss ............................
its probably on a todo list

Guy ON4AOI
I don't agree with you in calling the 1216L "NOT working". It works as you say yourself "perfect" when using the voltage intervals it was originally developed for.

I am sorry that we are unable to response to every request for changes in a short enough time. We would have to be a much bigger company with many more employees in order to handle all requests in "zero time", which would either require higher prices and/or higher volumes. Higher prices is something I think no customer would like, and higher volumes are not the easiest either as the type of equipment isn't exactly what the "average man/woman" uses. Also, would we be a "big" company then surely it would be even harder, if not impossible, for customers to get in touch with the developers and get feature requests implemented at all.
Always include type of hard/software and version when asking for support.

ON4AOI

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 295
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Can a FT2000 control a FT9000
« Reply #5 on: 2011-11-22, 12:56:35 »
Hi Jan,

the NOT I used has nothing to do with the 1216L itself  "it is working perfect"
but in case you use a YAESU or compatible rotator the indication is not correct due to low voltage
from Yaesu controller, this was only an answer to the original question.
I understand that with only a few people there are probably higher priorities instead of
this one.

Guy ON4AOI