Author Topic: Remoterig FREE Dynamic DNS service  (Read 46386 times)

EA5WA

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 114
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Remoterig FREE Dynamic DNS service
« Reply #30 on: 2012-06-03, 19:25:52 »
Here again:

Right now with the system completely switched ON, works with dyndns.org, but with ddns.remoterig server, I can't updated my external IP. Therefore, my upmentioned question is still alive...
Another question is how can I manually update my external IP at ddns.remoterig? I'm doing it using "Dynamic DNS Settings" in my Radio RRC and the server doesn't update my IP.

Thanks, 73's from EA5EXK Juan Carlos
73's from EA5WA Juan Carlos

sm2o

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2998
    • View Profile
    • sm2oan
    • Email
Re: Remoterig FREE Dynamic DNS service
« Reply #31 on: 2012-06-04, 11:28:11 »
The Remotrig ddns can not be manually updated. It's only support automatic update. If the ddns has to manually updated it's the same as entering the current IP direct in the SIP-contact field, No ddns is needed. So you need to have your DNS to work, to use the ddns function.

73 de mike

EA5WA

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 114
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Remoterig FREE Dynamic DNS service
« Reply #32 on: 2012-06-04, 18:15:17 »
I give up..... :'(

May be I can't explain or I'm so much clumsy .

Right now the system is working fine using dyndns.org function included in the router at Radio site, but It doesn't work with neither dyndns.org or ddns.remoterig included in the RRC setup. I don't know if the Nanostation is blocking something or....I don't know....

I've tried with several dns servers, all of them work fine in my PC, but it doesn't work with the Radio RRC.

I have no more ideas.....

Thanks for all your efforts and 73's from EA5EXK Juan Carlos
73's from EA5WA Juan Carlos

sm2o

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2998
    • View Profile
    • sm2oan
    • Email
Re: Remoterig FREE Dynamic DNS service
« Reply #33 on: 2012-06-04, 18:25:11 »
Check that you have an updated version of airOS we use XS5.ar2313.v4.0.4974.110823.1731, in some earlier version there was lot of strange things happening. Use "Access point WDS" and "Station WDS" and network mode = bridge then it works at least here.

73 de mike

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2223
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: Remoterig FREE Dynamic DNS service
« Reply #34 on: 2012-06-04, 18:28:35 »
Juan Carlos,

Maybe I can take a look and figure it out, however...........

You really don't need a second device with a dynamic DNS address on the same network, unless the
first device requires a backup for some reason. Since you only have one external IP number, you can
reach any device on that network through the single dynamic DNS address from your router.

Of course, every device must have a different port(s) that is in turn forwarded through the router. Since
that is anyway required with the radio's RRC, then just use your router's dynamic DNS address to reach
it from the control RRC.

Maybe I misunderstood you, but I think that is what you are asking.

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX

EA5WA

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 114
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Remoterig FREE Dynamic DNS service
« Reply #35 on: 2012-06-04, 22:29:00 »
Hi there:

Mike: Nanostation is updated. I'm using it as "Station" because the Access Point is a router, not another Nanostation. I don't know if is going to work if I set it as WDS. When I'll come back to the radio site, I'll try it. The Network Mode is already set it as "Bridge".

Mitch: If you want to take a look to my configuration, don't hesitate to ask me when you see me at Skype.
I know what you mean, but I want to try ddns.remoterig server and my router don't let me (only admits dyndns.org). Also, I don't want to rely on the router, if there's a way to update my external IP automatically without using the router configuration, I would use it.

This afternoon, I was trying some things....I connected using the real external IP in the SIP Control at Control RRC and then, the DNS status in this Control RRC changed to "OK, remoterig.com=193.202.110.185, but looking at Microbit DDNS viewer, the IP is not updated.
At Radio RRC, DNS Status is always "Querying Status"

Thanks, 73's
« Last Edit: 2012-06-04, 22:41:00 by EA5EXK »
73's from EA5WA Juan Carlos

Jan (Microbit)

  • Software Developer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1829
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Remoterig FREE Dynamic DNS service
« Reply #36 on: 2012-06-05, 08:28:06 »
This afternoon, I was trying some things....I connected using the real external IP in the SIP Control at Control RRC and then, the DNS status in this Control RRC changed to "OK, remoterig.com=193.202.110.185, but looking at Microbit DDNS viewer, the IP is not updated.
At Radio RRC, DNS Status is always "Querying Status"

Thanks, 73's
Getting DNS status "OK, remoterig.com=193.202.110.185" at the control RRC means that the DNS works ok in that device, while getting DNS status "Querying Status" in the radio RRC still means that DNS isn't working there. In order to get an IP update at Microbit's DDNS system the radio RRC's DNS must be functioning.

There have been a few occasions where the RRC and certain routers have had such problems, but that has been solved either by upgrading the router's firmware or by using some other DNS server(for ex. OpenDNS). In your case it seems not a single DNS is working, which is strange to say the least!

By connecting a Telnet client to the radio RRC it might be possible to get more information about this, possibly also increasing the debug printout level. Is it possible for us here at Microbit to have Telnet access to your radio RRC?
Always include type of hard/software and version when asking for support.

EA5WA

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 114
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Remoterig FREE Dynamic DNS service
« Reply #37 on: 2012-06-05, 22:12:10 »
Hi Jan:

Thanks for your help.

Yes, absolutely, there isn't any problem to look at my Radio RRC. Send me an e-mail and I'll send you my Radio RRC IP.

Thanks 73's
73's from EA5WA Juan Carlos

S57KW

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Remoterig FREE Dynamic DNS service
« Reply #38 on: 2012-06-14, 05:42:02 »
Hello all,

I have strange problem with Dyn DNS service. It looks like on one of the server old IP address has stale. Sometimes i receive correct ip address and other time the wrong (old) one. Below is my current status page

Name   Value
Radio   ON
Connection status   Disconnected
SIP status   Idle
Last SIP error   None
RTP/UDP audio status   Disconnected
UDP cmd status   Disconnected
SIP command timeout   0
Rx Jitter buffer size   4
Rx Jitter delay   3
Dual Rx   0
External IP   XXX.YYY.124.125
SIP Out port   5065
SIP In port   5065
Audio Out port   0
Audio In port   0
Command Out port   0
Command In port   12000
External SIP In port   5065
External Audio In port   11000
External Cmd In port   12000
Other party   0.0.0.0
Input 1   High
Input 2   High
Output 0   High
Output 1   Low
Output 2   Low
Dynamic DNS status   Error, code 19
Ping status (watchdog)   OK [48 ms]
DNS status   OK, remoterig.com = 193.202.110.185
Active profile:   Default
PTT status:   OFF


As you can see Dynamic DNS status is Error, code 19

Thanks for your help and 73's

Jan (Microbit)

  • Software Developer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1829
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Remoterig FREE Dynamic DNS service
« Reply #39 on: 2012-06-14, 09:11:33 »
S57KW: It seems your RRC doesn't like the response it gets from the Dynamic DNS server. Could you email me the hostname your RRC has been assigned so that we can check here inside our system? It would also be good if the RRC is set to update every 10 minutes so we can log what is happening.
Always include type of hard/software and version when asking for support.

Jan (Microbit)

  • Software Developer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1829
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Remoterig FREE Dynamic DNS service
« Reply #40 on: 2012-06-14, 11:41:04 »
We have located a database synchronization problem and are looking into it now.
Always include type of hard/software and version when asking for support.

Jan (Microbit)

  • Software Developer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1829
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Remoterig FREE Dynamic DNS service
« Reply #41 on: 2012-06-14, 16:59:30 »
It should work ok now.
Always include type of hard/software and version when asking for support.

S57KW

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Remoterig FREE Dynamic DNS service
« Reply #42 on: 2012-06-14, 17:01:36 »
Thanks a lot!

73's  Jure - S57KW

Jan (Microbit)

  • Software Developer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1829
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Remoterig FREE Dynamic DNS service
« Reply #43 on: 2012-06-14, 17:38:19 »
Thanks a lot!

73's  Jure - S57KW
Sure it isn't the other way around?  ;)
Always include type of hard/software and version when asking for support.

chris g3yhf

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Remoterig FREE Dynamic DNS service
« Reply #44 on: 2023-05-01, 14:14:43 »
I'm now getting error code 19 on dynamic DNS, although my remoterig setup has been working perfectly for several years and i havent made any changes.
i updated firmware to see if this would solve problem, but it hasnt.
So i'm unable to connect remotely.
i can see my status is ok at the DDNS status page.
Thanks for any assistance!
Chris G3YHF