Author Topic: [SOLVED] No TX-modulation!  (Read 4792 times)

ik5zve

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
[SOLVED] No TX-modulation!
« on: 2013-02-21, 22:37:05 »
Hello to all the Users and memebrs of this forum.
I'm really sorry to start my first topic on this forum immediately asking for help...

I recently got the RRC 1258, coupled them to an IC706MkIIG, cabled them and ... immediately tested them on the home LAN and everything was OK and running so good!
of course, very glad and excited, i moved to my small flat wit "no-antenna possibility" and... after rigging up everything, checking connection etc. i realized the IC-706 didn't power up  :'(
all i can immediately notice is that aux/mic plug is blinking (orange led) and if i keep the power-on button of the 706 i can hear the "triple tone" twice.

here attached i paste the radio side status lines

Status
Name   Value
Radio   OFF
Connection status   Disconnected
SIP status   Idle
Last SIP error   None
RTP/UDP audio status   Disconnected
UDP cmd status   Disconnected
SIP command timeout   0
Rx Jitter buffer size   4
Rx Jitter delay   3
Dual Rx   1
External IP   188.153.30.151
SIP Out port   13000
SIP In port   13000
Audio Out port   0
Audio In port   0
Command Out port   0
Command In port   13002
External SIP In port   13000
External Audio In port   13001
External Cmd In port   13002
Other party   0.0.0.0
Input 1   High
Input 2   High
Output 0   Low
Output 1   Low
Output 2   Low
Dynamic DNS status   OK
Ping status (watchdog)   Off
DNS status   OK, remoterig.com = 193.202.110.185
Active profile:   706
PTT status:   OFF
Antenna-Switch (IP)   not connected

and these are the lines of the control side:


Name   Value
Control panel   OFF
Radio   OFF
Connection status   Disconnected
SIP status   Unknown(1)
Last SIP error   SIP Error
RTP/UDP audio status   Disconnected
UDP cmd status   Disconnected
SIP command timeout   5
Rx Jitter buffer size   4
Rx Jitter delay   3
Dual Rx   0
SIP Out port   13000
SIP In port   13000
Audio Out port   0
Audio In port   0
Command Out port   0
Command In port   13002
External SIP In port   13000
External Audio In port   13001
External Cmd In port   13002
Other party   192.168.0.228
Input 0   High
Input 1   High
Input 2   High
Output 0   High
Output 1   Low
Output 2   Low
DNS status   Error, failed to resolve remoterig.com!
Active profile:   706
PTT status:   OFF

FYI my ADSL router here in the remote site, and in the radio room, are both D-link 2750B

I will appreciate any help, considering i'm a newbie...

Thanks to you all in advance.

Denis, IK5ZVE

 :)
« Last Edit: 2013-03-12, 22:30:44 by ik5zve »

sm2o

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2796
    • View Profile
    • sm2oan
    • Email
Re: No connection when outside LAN
« Reply #1 on: 2013-02-21, 22:45:54 »
You can not just move the unit to outside your LAN, there are things that you must do first. Have you checked the manual ?

-you have to activate ddns in the radio-RRC,
-you have to setup port forwardings in the radio side router.
-you have to change SIP contact to the ddns hostname in the control-RRC

73 de mike

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2212
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: No connection when outside LAN
« Reply #2 on: 2013-02-22, 00:58:35 »
Denis,

Drop me a mail at dj0qn (at) darc.de and I will send you a checklist to walk you through this
process. Mike is right about the manual, but it can be difficult for people who are not experienced
in networking. He mentioned some most common causes, another one is forgetting to change the
control RRC to DHCP or to the new subnet.

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX

ik5zve

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: No connection when outside LAN
« Reply #3 on: 2013-02-25, 19:45:31 »
Thanks to Mitch and Mike suggestions (mainly Mitch's overlook to my configuration... a real guardian angel, Mitch!), my 706 is alive and kicking!
So, main problem was SOLVED (thanx)

I realized then that...something is not working properly.
I can receive, i can send the PTT input (TX commuted ON), but NO VOICE passing (no ALC moving and... i'm lucky enough to be able to listen to my remote transmission from home: can't hear my voice) and so no modulation from the 706 body at the radio site, only a carrier.

I opened the RR control box, checked the jumpers and it seems all right. Checked them with a tester and no one was bad. I have to check the jumpers in the radio RR box, but i can for sure exclude that the separation cable, properly cut and connected to the RJ connectors is not ok, since i tested it before plugging the 2 RR boxes on local LAN.

Any suggestions?

Again, i will appreciate any help.

Denis




« Last Edit: 2013-02-25, 19:48:44 by ik5zve »

ik5zve

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: No TX-modulation!
« Reply #4 on: 2013-02-27, 20:57:19 »
I confirm... jumpers are in both boxes ok.
The connecting cable between ic-706 front and body is working properly if connected to the radio directly...
What else can be?
I say again, i can control the radio in remote, can send the tuner on and everything but... some ALC to get on the air, just a carrier  :'(

Suggestions?

 :-[

sm2o

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2796
    • View Profile
    • sm2oan
    • Email
Re: No TX-modulation!
« Reply #5 on: 2013-02-27, 21:45:42 »
There are only a fe things which can be the problem.

-Red straps are misspalced or broken, check with an ohm meter.
-JMP 1 is not in place so the mic doesn't get any bias voltage.
- The separation cable is not fully working. Check the screens, Even if it works when connecting them togheter it will not be any modulation if the mic screen is not in place as the mic output from the RRC is balanced.

73 de mike