Author Topic: Icom 7100 CIV control  (Read 17018 times)

VK3OE

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 30
    • View Profile
    • Email
Icom 7100 CIV control
« on: 2013-07-10, 09:32:42 »
Hello,

I have acquired an IC-7100 and wish to use the control head ( which is on COM 0 ) and the CIV from the remote unit at the same time so that I can use HRD or any similar logging program to get the frequencies and modes of the remote unit into the computer. I have tried to configure this arrangement but the CIV backhaul that I use with the IC-7000 is precluded as it requires to place COM2 logically in parrell with COM0 at the control which is in conflict with the IC 7100 configuration.

Ideas please??

Andrew
VK3OE/VK3OER

sm2o

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3024
    • View Profile
    • sm2oan
    • Email
Re: Icom 7100 CIV control
« Reply #1 on: 2013-07-10, 13:29:05 »
Hi

Set com2 to mode 2 in both RRC:s.

73 de mike

EA1AF

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Icom 7100 CIV control
« Reply #2 on: 2013-08-20, 01:41:35 »
Hello,

I have a problem also with the CI-V and IC-7100.

I have selected Mode 2 in both RRCīs in COM2.
I use a straight RS232 cable from Control to RRC and a TTL converter from the rear part or the radio (remote) to RRC.

The cable is working OK, tested without the remote system.

I tried all the baudrate speeds and configurations in the mode 2 of COM2.

I donīt know where is the problem. ŋ Any ideas to test?

Thanks in advance.

EA1AF - David

sm2o

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3024
    • View Profile
    • sm2oan
    • Email
Re: Icom 7100 CIV control
« Reply #3 on: 2013-08-20, 11:11:06 »
What control software do you use ?

/mike

EA1AF

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Icom 7100 CIV control
« Reply #4 on: 2013-08-20, 12:05:39 »
Logger32 here.

EA1AF - David

ON4AOI

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 295
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Icom 7100 CIV control
« Reply #5 on: 2013-08-20, 15:33:44 »
Hola David,

"I tried all the baudrate speeds and configurations in the mode 2 of COM2"
How is the baudrate set in the IC-7100 ? if auto change to 9600 or 19k2

Guy ON4AOI

 

EA1AF

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Icom 7100 CIV control
« Reply #6 on: 2013-08-20, 16:22:52 »
Hello Guy, the IC-7100 has in the CI-V options:

CI-V transceive: ON
CI-V Address: 88h
CI-V Baud Rate: I tested all the options from 300 to 19200 and AUTO

EA1AF - David

ON4AOI

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 295
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Icom 7100 CIV control
« Reply #7 on: 2013-08-20, 18:22:20 »
David,
this wan't  probably change anything
but put CI-V tranceive to OFF

Guy  ON4AOI

EA1AF

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Icom 7100 CIV control
« Reply #8 on: 2013-08-20, 19:40:22 »
Hello again,

Is not a problem of the IC-7100, the CI-V is working well with the direct connection to PC, out of the remote instalation.

The TTL converter is from Icom, is not a cheaper one.

I find that is a problem when I connect the RRCīs and the data throught the COM2.

EA1AF - David

ON4AOI

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 295
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Icom 7100 CIV control
« Reply #9 on: 2013-08-20, 20:28:31 »
David,
some programs don't like CI-V tranceive = ON