Author Topic: Radio RRC Web interface does not respond  (Read 20162 times)

oh2xx

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 62
    • View Profile
Re: Radio RRC Web interface does not respond
« Reply #15 on: 2015-08-10, 20:30:54 »

The Radio RRC Web interface stopped responding today. So the different port number did not help. Any other ideas?

BR,

Kari




Jan (Microbit)

  • Software Developer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1829
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Radio RRC Web interface does not respond
« Reply #16 on: 2015-08-11, 11:19:06 »
Hi Mike,

I have tried with Chrome and IE on both remote PC and my home PC with similar results: "ERR_CONNECTION_TIMED_OUT"

If I power boot RRC it helps. If I power boot PC nothing changes. It kind of isolates the problem on the RRC side - right?

I have noticed that sometimes I get only a part of the web page but after clicking the hyperlinks it kind of refreshes the page and starts to work ok.

My two 1216H Web Switches work just fine all the time.

73 de Kari, OH2XX
Is there anything else accessing the RRC's web server simultaneously? That could make things worse.

The way you describe what happens sounds exactly like what Mike wrote about. In that case the PC is "impatient" and sends TCP reset very shortly after requesting the web page and before the RRC is capable on replying resulting in partially or blank web pages.

A Win8.1 computer at home all the sudden started to behave like that and after a few weeks it suddenly stopped doing that and since then it has worked.

Another computer is stuck at doing that and so it still does not work ok. When a computer behaves like that it also affects for example routers internal web servers causing partially loaded web pages.

So far we have not found out why the PCs do that and we have only been able to improve how the RRC's handles it so it does not reboot most of the time.
Always include type of hard/software and version when asking for support.

4Z4OQ

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 96
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Radio RRC Web interface does not respond
« Reply #17 on: 2015-08-11, 11:37:34 »
Hi

I was suffering from the same issue. I found that in most cases it was due to a very short electricity off/of at my radio location. Only reset (power off for 2-3sec) would help. Added small UPS and ok for 6 months

Ziv

oh2xx

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 62
    • View Profile
Re: Radio RRC Web interface does not respond
« Reply #18 on: 2015-08-14, 20:30:19 »
Hi,

Thank you for your ideas. This is till a mystery to me.

My RRC and remote PC are behind an UPS so that should be ok.

There are not multiple instances accessing the RRC at the same time. It is just me with my home or remote PC.

I still cannot access the RRC either from local LAN (remote PC -  no DNS involved) or from my home PC when this symptom occurs. Both PCs are running Win7 and I find it very hard to believe that both of the PCs become impatient at the same time after two weeks. I am able to connect to the two remote webswitches and an IP Camera all the time. Power booting the RRC helps - power booting PC does not.

Is there a way to send a reset command to the RRC if the web interfaces is unresponsive?

BR,

Kari

Jan (Microbit)

  • Software Developer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1829
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Radio RRC Web interface does not respond
« Reply #19 on: 2015-08-18, 13:39:29 »
Hi,

Thank you for your ideas. This is till a mystery to me.

My RRC and remote PC are behind an UPS so that should be ok.

There are not multiple instances accessing the RRC at the same time. It is just me with my home or remote PC.

I still cannot access the RRC either from local LAN (remote PC -  no DNS involved) or from my home PC when this symptom occurs. Both PCs are running Win7 and I find it very hard to believe that both of the PCs become impatient at the same time after two weeks. I am able to connect to the two remote webswitches and an IP Camera all the time. Power booting the RRC helps - power booting PC does not.

Is there a way to send a reset command to the RRC if the web interfaces is unresponsive?

BR,

Kari
We would need access to the unit from here to try debugging it and see if we find something going wrong.

No, there is no remote reset feature available.
« Last Edit: 2015-08-20, 09:42:37 by Jan (Microbit) »
Always include type of hard/software and version when asking for support.

oh1tv

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Radio RRC Web interface does not respond
« Reply #20 on: 2015-08-19, 13:23:30 »
I also had similar problems when using W7. Earlier it worked fine but recently it started to behave like Kari has described. I went to RRC advanced settings and set "UDP cmd min-data-size" to 80. That helped but didn't solve the problem totally.

After I upgraded W7 to W10 the problem disappeared.

Pekka / OH1TV

oh2xx

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 62
    • View Profile
Re: Radio RRC Web interface does not respond
« Reply #21 on: 2015-08-19, 19:30:37 »
Jan,

Now testing with the latest FW and changed Eth-type to "Auto" was "Auto prefer 10 Mbit"

Just noticed another symptom if it helps: Sometimes the main page keeps on loading even though the page is ready and displayed. I need to push the stop button in the browser to end that.

Today I got also an error message a few times saying: "TcpError, HTTP: TCP Error: -4, connection=0". Refresing the page helped.

This is not too serious a problem but very inconvenient when twisting the configuration. So I'll keep on testing here and let's see if a closer look is needed.

Pekka,

Thanks for the info - good to know about your W10 experience.

73 de Kari, OH2XX

Jan (Microbit)

  • Software Developer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1829
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Radio RRC Web interface does not respond
« Reply #22 on: 2015-08-20, 10:38:43 »
A page that looks "ready and displayed" can still be in a state which is not closed and finished as the TCP communication involves more steps after having transferred that actual page data before being considered 100% finished.

The Error -4 is a TCP Reset which browsers sends from time to time. Internet Explorer is by far the worst of them as it sends them when normally ending a page communication session.

Always include type of hard/software and version when asking for support.

oh2xx

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 62
    • View Profile
Re: Radio RRC Web interface does not respond
« Reply #23 on: 2015-09-11, 22:00:23 »
Radio won't start due to lost DDNS info. Tried to reset IP via http://ddns.remoterig.com/status/editip.php but cannot access RRC so cannot find the password to reset the IP. Frustrating. Webswitchs 1 & 2 are responding just fine but it does not help. Need to write down that GD password...

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2223
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: Radio RRC Web interface does not respond
« Reply #24 on: 2015-09-11, 23:54:43 »
Kari,

If I understand your problem, you can no longer reach the RRC, due to the DDNS address not working. The following will
help if my assumption is right:

If the Webswitches are on the same network as the RRC, then you can use their DDNS address instead with the correct
port number for the RRC. You only have one, single exteral IP address and you can have a hundred devices all using the
same DDNS address. The only difference is the port number used per device.

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX

oh2xx

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 62
    • View Profile
Re: Radio RRC Web interface does not respond
« Reply #25 on: 2015-09-12, 14:50:30 »

I was not able to reach the Radio RRC even via the local LAN as described earlier. This time even the radio did not start and I found out that the IP address had changed but it was not updated  at ddns.remoterig.com . This happens once in a while and in order to update the address manually you need the DDNS password to do that. I usually just go to the Radio RRC and check the password from there but this time it was not possible as it had become unresponsive again.  I was in a hurry when this happened so it was quite annoying. I have now the password stored on my home PC ...

w1asb

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 49
    • View Profile
Re: Radio RRC Web interface does not respond
« Reply #26 on: 2015-09-12, 15:49:30 »
I have similar problem and I think there is a bug somewhere that's why working Rrc web suddenly stop working and with suggestions of other users only hard power disconnect solve the problem there is no need to change ports ,router settings just unplug power from Rrc for 30sec. Plug it back and web working ok so I put a relay so I can remotely "hard reboot "Rrc and were back online
Thanks
Adam
By the way icheck different sources accessing Rrc web and nothing works except above method

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2223
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: Radio RRC Web interface does not respond
« Reply #27 on: 2015-09-12, 15:58:52 »
Kari,

Please read again what I wrote before.....you only have one, single external IP address. Any device that issues
a DDNS address within the same network will always point to the same, identical IP number. If you have a
Webswitch on the same network that already has DDNS setup, just use that address instead (with the other
port number). I had several devices on my network and always only used the same DDNS address.

This of course doesn't solve your chronic problem of the RRC not being accessible, but solves your DDNS
issue.

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX

w1asb

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 49
    • View Profile
Re: Radio RRC Web interface does not respond
« Reply #28 on: 2015-09-12, 17:01:19 »
Mitch,
This is exactly how I'm using same address for all devices plus port number and web Rrc (plus other devices) has designated port in router settings it works ok for some time then stops I went thru different possibilities and the only way to fix this problem and get Rrc web to work is hard power "reboot"
Thanks
Adam

oh2xx

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 62
    • View Profile
Re: Radio RRC Web interface does not respond
« Reply #29 on: 2015-09-12, 22:42:24 »

Adam,

Thanks, we are on the same page.

- Kari