Author Topic: Spurious PTT when using CAT on Com1 mode 7  (Read 3948 times)

VA2MM

• View Profile
Spurious PTT when using CAT on Com1 mode 7
« on: 2016-11-02, 15:31:58 »
I have been using a K3 Twin setup for a few years now and it generally works well. Lately I've been doing more CW and a long-standing issue that I have put up with on SSB is harder to live with in CW mode.

When I connect my logging program (at the control site) to the remote ratio via Com1 (USB) of the control RRC, the radio occasionally sees very short (few ms) spurious PTT and/or CW keying every few seconds. It does occur in SSB mode but it is much less obtrusive and seems less frequent on SSB than on CW where there are short bursts of on/off PTT and keying (side-tone blips). If I turn off Radio CAT control on my logging program, the problem disappears.

I do not suspect my logging software itself as the cause because this problem does not occur when directly connected to the radio, nor when connected via the radio RRC local COM1 at the radio site (I use mode-7 for COM1). 

It may be bandwidth related because PTT and keying blips occur more often if I increase the the baud rate of COM1. It is tolerable at 4800 bps but quite annoying at 38400 bps. However, the VoIP bandwidth seems fine (no audio drop-outs, except obviously during spurious PTT). COM2 is 38400 bps, per recommended K3 Twin settings.

Another (probably related) issue is that the radio sees brief spurious PTTs when I spin the VFO knob on the control end. This occurs even when I'm not using CAT control and the PTT blips stop as soon as I stop turning the VFO knob).

Currently running RRC firmware 2.9

Any ideas?
« Last Edit: 2016-11-02, 17:15:43 by VA2MM »

VA2MM

• View Profile
Re: Spurious PTT when using CAT on Com1 mode 7
« Reply #1 on: 2016-11-08, 21:01:31 »
No replies? Does any else at least experience brief spurious radio PTTs when turning the VFO? My setup has always done that. Any feedback or ideas would be appreciated.

sm2o