Author Topic: AS-1289 Webswitch Remote Access via DDNS  (Read 2169 times)

K3GGN

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
AS-1289 Webswitch Remote Access via DDNS
« on: 2020-07-06, 19:40:52 »
My AS-1289 is working on LAN at the remote site.  I am unable to reach it remotely from my control site using "Own host name" http://xxxxx.ddns.webswitch.se as specified in the manual and receive the error "This site can't be reached".  (xxxxx is the name assigned by the webswitch).

Port forwarding is setup at the remote router.  When I go to ddns.remoterig.com/status/ the response is:

RRC DynDNS Result

User:  ws1216H-3648
Host Name:  xxxxx.ddns.webswitch.se
IP Address:  50.50.244.222
Last update:  2020-06-30  o2:46:12
Update count:  7

Further, RRC-1258 MKII is working nicely with K3 Twins.

Help is appreciated!
Dean

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2212
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: AS-1289 Webswitch Remote Access via DDNS
« Reply #1 on: 2020-07-06, 19:42:19 »
Dean,

You forgot the port number in the URL. It must be xxxxx.ddns.webswitch.se:YYYY where YYYY is the
port number that you forwarded.

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX

K3GGN

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: AS-1289 Webswitch Remote Access via DDNS
« Reply #2 on: 2020-07-06, 20:34:59 »
Yes, thanks Mitch.  But get "refused to connect".  At the router I tried setting up a new forwarded port and still get the error.

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2212
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: AS-1289 Webswitch Remote Access via DDNS
« Reply #3 on: 2020-07-06, 21:02:03 »
Dean,

That error message doesn't make much sense.....where is it coming from? The browser, router or RRC?

If you are within the same network as the Webswitch, you should use the internal IP address and not the
DDNS address, e.g. 192.168.X.XXX:YYYY. A decent router should block the connection if you use the DDNS
address and give you that kind of error message.

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX

K3GGN

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: AS-1289 Webswitch Remote Access via DDNS
« Reply #4 on: 2020-07-06, 21:15:19 »
The error comes from the browser when I attempt to connect to http://xxxx.ddns.webswitch.se:13005 from my control location.

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2212
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: AS-1289 Webswitch Remote Access via DDNS
« Reply #5 on: 2020-07-06, 21:44:55 »
Assuming the port forward was done correctly, then it sounds like a router or perhaps a browser
error. Did you try using a different browser?

Maybe someone else can help on this.

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX

K3GGN

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: AS-1289 Webswitch Remote Access via DDNS
« Reply #6 on: 2020-07-06, 22:24:37 »
Yes, I did try a different browser.  It's interesting that the router works fine with the RRC-1258.  I forwarded the port for the AS-1289 in the same way that I forwarded the ports for the RRC so should be alright. So I'm really baffled.

Is everything OK on the xxxxx.ddns.webswitch.se end of things?

TNX

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2212
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: AS-1289 Webswitch Remote Access via DDNS
« Reply #7 on: 2020-07-06, 22:28:04 »
That is indeed strange.

You can check your DDNS status as follows: http://www.remoterig.com/wp/?page_id=1481

BTW, if you already have an RRC running a DDNS, then you don't need to enable an additional one.
Just use the same address followed by the new port number. You only have one external IP number
and any number of devices will always point to that same number, so adding more gives you only more
work to do.

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX

K3GGN

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: AS-1289 Webswitch Remote Access via DDNS
« Reply #8 on: 2020-07-13, 20:14:48 »
The remoterig DDNS status website reports:

RRC DynDns Result
User   ws1216H-3648
Host Name   xxxxxx.ddns.webswitch.se
IP Address   50.50.248.72
Last update   2020-07-12 06:07:37
Update count   20

In addition, the AS1289 "System Info" reports:

Max available memory   18301
DNS status   OK, remoterig.com = 213.180.92.125
Dynamic DNS status   Unknown
Ping status (watchdog)   Off
Active profile   Default
Last WD Reset   1
TCP Error counter   0
Webserver   1

From time to time the Dynamic DNS status shows "Error, code = 103". 

How do I use the same DDNS address as the RRC-1258 as you suggest?  If you mean to use the same Dynamic DNS hostname, ddns.remoterig.com, I am unable to change that in the "Dynamic DDNS settings/ Dynamic DNS hostname". 

73, Dean

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2212
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: AS-1289 Webswitch Remote Access via DDNS
« Reply #9 on: 2020-07-13, 20:31:47 »
Dean,

You don't need to change a thing in the Webswitch beyond the port number. You need to just enter
the DDNS address of the RRC into the browser followed by the port number with a colon in-between.

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX

K3GGN

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: AS-1289 Webswitch Remote Access via DDNS
« Reply #10 on: 2020-07-15, 17:50:47 »
That works nicely Mitch, thanks. 

Still don't understand why the DDNS Webswitch approach won't work for me.

Thank you for your help!

Dean
K3GGN