Author Topic: connection problem, "UL" cw message  (Read 1251 times)

HB9CVN-4F3CV

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
connection problem, "UL" cw message
« on: 2020-10-10, 16:28:09 »
hello,

I have tried to search the forum for the problem. Pretty sure, as usual, others have had the same and solved.


Had a system set up and running for more than a year without a single problem.

Then I was not using it -not switching the radio on- for 3 months.

Now if I switch the radio on, for a few seconds I can hear the audio and see the frequency. After about 5 seconds, the frequency indication dispappears and I see just dots, and I get a UL sent on CW.

Nothing has been changed on the remote side. Here the only change is that I have replaced one of the TV box attached to the network.

On the system status I see no error indication. Everything seems ok.

Anything I should do to locate the source of the problem.

Thank in advance for any help

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2212
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: connection problem, "UL" cw message
« Reply #1 on: 2020-10-10, 17:06:01 »
Just reboot the routers and RRC's. That should hopefully
solve the problem.

73,
Mitch DJ0QN  / K7DX

HB9CVN-4F3CV

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
Re: connection problem, "UL" cw message
« Reply #2 on: 2020-10-12, 21:27:19 »
I have reset both routers but it doesn't solve the problem.

When I switch on the system it works for about 15 - 20 seconds. Then no more audio and the frequency indication disappears.

I could try to change the port numbers but there is no logical though behind it, because I don't see anything which has been added which could be using a conflictual setting

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2212
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: connection problem, "UL" cw message
« Reply #3 on: 2020-10-13, 13:22:34 »
Hard to say what the problem is, except that it is 99% caused by something that changed in your
network environment. Maybe the provider started blocking things or the firmware was updated on
a router and changed something in the firewall settings. I have seen all sorts of things like that
over the years, but the RRC was never the cause.

If possible, I suggest moving the control RRC to another location and see if the problem occurs there
as well. If it does, then you can focus on the radio location as the problem, otherwise you will know
that the problem is on the control side.

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX

EA5WA

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: connection problem, "UL" cw message
« Reply #4 on: 2020-10-13, 20:24:50 »
Is a Kenwood TS2000?

I can hardly remember a problem like this with a TS2000....

I'll try to remember
73's from EA5WA Juan Carlos

EA5WA

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: connection problem, "UL" cw message
« Reply #5 on: 2020-10-13, 20:27:15 »
Google has the answer....PLL Unlock problem

http://www.pa3guo.com/pll_unlock.html

73's from EA5WA Juan Carlos

73's from EA5WA Juan Carlos

HB9CVN-4F3CV

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
Re: connection problem, "UL" cw message
« Reply #6 on: 2020-10-14, 17:42:49 »
first of all thanks to all of you for your help.

The radio is a TS-480SAT. It has been sitting for several months without being fired up. It sits in an office, so a controlled environment without any problem of humidity.

I am now resetting everything and will try again tomorrow. If it doesn't work and give me the same problem, I will first try the radio alone in local, not remote.

Obviously, if it still producing the same error it has nothing to do with the remoterig. This would not be a piece of good news, because it would mean that the radio would need repair.

HB9CVN-4F3CV

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
Re: connection problem, "UL" cw message
« Reply #7 on: 2020-10-15, 19:50:19 »
I have connected the TS480 locally and the problem remains. After a short while, no audio, no frequency displayed and UL sent on CW.

According to the manual, it is on PIN 144 of the main microcomputer.

Couldn't find anything on google about that problem on the 480.

Definitely nothing wrong with the remotering set up


HB9CVN-4F3CV

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
Re: connection problem, "UL" cw message
« Reply #8 on: 2020-11-01, 16:50:51 »
Just in case somebody could be interested, the fault came from a bad solder of the optional TCXO unit.

Thanks again for helping.