Author Topic: RR-1256 K3 - Getting RRR/Q Codes out of Com1 port  (Read 1787 times)

WU2X

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
RR-1256 K3 - Getting RRR/Q Codes out of Com1 port
« on: 2016-06-08, 19:24:24 »
I apologize if my terminology is a bit off here.  We have a full working RemoteRig K3 Twin setup working.  Com1 connects to my computer and normally that is hooked to a logging program (this is on the side where the actual transmitter is).   I think I've correctly issued a RRR; command to this port, but I don't see the K3 Remote Protocol "Q Codes" being issued after that (other commands like FA answer correctly).   Are those filtered out? Did I do something incorrect, or is there a config setting I need in addition? 

I want to be able to use the RemoteRig boxes, but I'd like to also be able to access the transceiver without the RemoteRig box interfering. Perhaps I need to use another cabling method instead, but I won't be on site to dynamically make those changes, I need it to work both ways.

73,
Scott, WU2X

W1UE

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 108
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: RR-1256 K3 - Getting RRR/Q Codes out of Com1 port
« Reply #1 on: 2016-06-12, 12:14:13 »
Scott
We have an RRC box at the W1KM station.  To go from SO2R at the remote location to Remote at the remote location requires we change 4 cables: mike, speaker, key,   and PTT.  We have the computer connected to the Remote Rig box com port, the remote rig comport out then goes to the P3 RS232,  the P3 RS232 out goes to the K3.  None of the computer control wiring or changes in the logging program at the Remote site is necessary.

If you need more particulars on the set up let me know.  I'm not sure what you're trying to accomplish.

Dennis W1UE

WU2X

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: RR-1256 K3 - Getting RRR/Q Codes out of Com1 port
« Reply #2 on: 2016-06-14, 19:56:54 »
Thanks Dennis - I simply wanted access to the K3 remote protocol stream that the K3 is outputting from the RS232 port. The 1258 box issues a RRR; and that stream is piped to your local K3 that acts as a terminal (RRT;).   I am going phase out using the RemoteRig boxes and write my own computer based software to handle the connection, but in the meantime I want to keep the 1258 system in place while I develop my own software.   I am just going to split the connection coming from the RS232 output on the transmitter side for now.  The reason I want to put my software in the middle is so I can extend what the RRT;K3 can display and control in our station.  -Scott, WU2X