Author Topic: RRC-1258 and Yaesu FT-857  (Read 1768 times)

KA9HNT

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
    • Email
RRC-1258 and Yaesu FT-857
« on: 2018-07-17, 05:16:19 »
I am trying to get a Yaesu FT-857 to connect to the base unit using the 1258.
Both sides of the 1258 are on the same switch and same subnet.
The remote unit tries to connect to the base (I can hear the relays click), but the display on the control head doesn't light up.  The remote side web page connection status indicates a faulty connection, the SIP Status shows Connected/transferring, but the RTP/UDP audio status is Stalled. 

Any ides where I should start to look??

tnx
de ka9hnt
 

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2150
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: RRC-1258 and Yaesu FT-857
« Reply #1 on: 2018-07-17, 12:19:28 »
This type of problem is usually caused by router or even ISP issues. It could be a number of things,
so process of elimination will be the only way to solve it.

To start, make sure that SIP ALG is disabled on both sides. Then turn off the router's firewall to see
if that solves the problem. You may try changing the three UDP ports to see if that makes a
difference, but that rarely helps (unless you have an old RRC running port 5060, which must be
changed).

If that doesn't help, take the control RRC to another location. If it works there, you know that the
problem is on the radio side. Otherwise you can focus on the control side.

I can send you my networking checklist, but it appears that you got things working and probably
don't need it.

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX


KA9HNT

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: RRC-1258 and Yaesu FT-857
« Reply #2 on: 2018-07-17, 13:41:39 »
Does the ISP and Firewall come into play even if both units are inside my network?
The two 1258's are two IP addresses (192.168.2.130 & 192.168.2.132) from each other and don't leave the network.

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2150
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: RRC-1258 and Yaesu FT-857
« Reply #3 on: 2018-07-17, 18:00:15 »
Well, that missing important information. I assumed that you were outside of your network,
since you had a SIP error.

Indeed the ISP has no effect on what is going on within your
network. However, the router may still block packets to
"protect" your internal network. So still make the checks and
changes I suggested.

73,
Mitch DJ0QN/ K7DX

KA9HNT

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: RRC-1258 and Yaesu FT-857
« Reply #4 on: 2018-07-18, 03:01:49 »
OK, the router's SIP AGL is disabled and the IPv4 firewall is disabled. Still no joy.  I see the 857 screen start to come on, but then it goes out.  The relays click in the radio base, but nothing on the remote head.

What are the next things I need to check??  How do I know if the 1258 is working as it should?

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2150
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: RRC-1258 and Yaesu FT-857
« Reply #5 on: 2018-07-18, 12:07:36 »
Go back to square one: set the RRC's to the default IP address and connect them directly using a single ethernet cable. Then
you can see if it is a network problem or not.

If it still doesn't work, you need to look into wiring, settings and power supplies as the problem.

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX

KA9HNT

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: RRC-1258 and Yaesu FT-857
« Reply #6 on: 2018-07-24, 02:55:40 »
OK, I factory reset both units and re-programmed them.
I checked each jumper on both units on the AUX/MIC configuration (and rang them out with a meter).
The remote side only has Jumper 3 in and the radio side also has jumper 3 for the Yaesu FT-857.
No Luck.

I put both units on different power supplies. No joy.
I used a crossover cable for the connection between them (both on the same subnet) and still no luck.

I swapped the TTL cables with the radio & control boxes (with the yellow connector toward the 1258 in each case) and it still doesn't work

If I put the FT-857 head back on the radio, it works with the radio.

Any ideas before I return the system?

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2150
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: RRC-1258 and Yaesu FT-857
« Reply #7 on: 2018-07-24, 13:29:09 »
I suggest that you wait until Mike from Microbit answers you. Maybe he can figure out what
the problem is. I am assuming that you have the correct SIP contact in your control RRC and
otherwise the direct connect indicates it is not a networking problem. This is something you
have to sort out with Microbit and a volunteer like me can no longer help you, sorry.

Mike is on vacation, so it may be a while until he responds.

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX

KA9HNT

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: RRC-1258 and Yaesu FT-857
« Reply #8 on: 2018-07-24, 18:01:42 »
Yes, I have the correct IP addresses. 

The remote site indicated the SIP is stalled while the radio side shows disconnected. 


sm2o

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2642
    • View Profile
    • sm2oan
    • Email
Re: RRC-1258 and Yaesu FT-857
« Reply #9 on: 2018-07-24, 21:12:45 »
Hi  I need you to send exported settings(html) files from both units and pictures of the strappings to be able to help

73 de mike

KA9HNT

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: RRC-1258 and Yaesu FT-857
« Reply #10 on: 2018-07-26, 18:41:38 »
Let's try this for a third time....
Part 1 of 2.

sm2o

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2642
    • View Profile
    • sm2oan
    • Email
Re: RRC-1258 and Yaesu FT-857
« Reply #11 on: 2018-07-27, 08:13:38 »
Hi
The settings looks OK but uptime  11 sec on the Radio-RRC indicates that it has restarted. That's a common problem when the Radio-RRC is connected to the same power supply as the radio. The Radio makes a short circuit when starting so the supply voltage will be to low for the RRC for a moment and it restarts. Try using a separate PS for the Radio-RRC

73 de mike

KA9HNT

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: RRC-1258 and Yaesu FT-857
« Reply #12 on: 2018-07-28, 19:33:08 »
OK, I put the RRC-1258 on a small lead acid battery and that resolved it.

What do you think about putting a diode in series with the positive power lead and a (large) capacitor across the 1258 power lead?

What is the cutoff voltage for the 1258?

sm2o

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2642
    • View Profile
    • sm2oan
    • Email
Re: RRC-1258 and Yaesu FT-857
« Reply #13 on: 2018-07-28, 20:43:10 »
OK, Probably easier to just use another PS, but of course you can do as you say. I don't remember what the cut off voltage is for the radio-rrc but it's below 9V.

73 de mike