Author Topic: DynDNS Status: Error, code 12  (Read 5806 times)

kpgrimes

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Email
DynDNS Status: Error, code 12
« on: 2011-03-04, 22:36:58 »
I'm running 2.34 of the firmware, and consistently get this message with DynDNS enabled.  I've tried resetting the device via the UI, power cycling it, removing the DynDNS config info, rebooting, and re-entering it, all to no effect.

Is there a list of what the different error codes mean?  For example, if I remove my domain name from the config it returns an error code of 2 instead of 12, so there's got to be some information somewhere on what they are.

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2060
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: DynDNS Status: Error, code 12
« Reply #1 on: 2011-03-04, 22:41:46 »
My DynDNS also stopped working with 2.33, but my error code is 8.

I have an account with DynDNS and have several names that work
just fine every day. User name and password are good, and I never
made any kind of change, it just stopped working.

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX

Jan (Microbit)

  • Software Developer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1799
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: DynDNS Status: Error, code 12
« Reply #2 on: 2011-03-05, 06:05:49 »
The list of codes is currently not available to others than us at Microbit. The codes were primarily meant for helping debug issues like this. But what you can do is click on the word "status" which should turn into a link once there is a DynDNS error. Doing so gives a page which might look this:

HTTP/1.1 200 OK
Date: Sat, 05 Mar 2011 05:00:30 GMT
Server: Apache
Content-Type: text/plain
Connection: close

badauth

Copy and paste it here and then we will be able to tell you why it failes.
Always include type of hard/software and version when asking for support.

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2060
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: DynDNS Status: Error, code 12
« Reply #3 on: 2011-03-05, 07:35:43 »
Here is my error code 8, Jan:

HTTP/1.1 200 OK
Content-Type: text/html
Server: DynDNS-CheckIP/1.0
Connection: close
Cache-Control: no-cache
Pragma: no-cache
Content-Length: 106

73,
Mitch

Jan (Microbit)

  • Software Developer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1799
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: DynDNS Status: Error, code 12
« Reply #4 on: 2011-03-07, 10:23:29 »
I'm running 2.34 of the firmware, and consistently get this message with DynDNS enabled.  I've tried resetting the device via the UI, power cycling it, removing the DynDNS config info, rebooting, and re-entering it, all to no effect.

Is there a list of what the different error codes mean?  For example, if I remove my domain name from the config it returns an error code of 2 instead of 12, so there's got to be some information somewhere on what they are.
Error code 2 means that it failed initializing, in your case due to a missing domain name. The 12 code means it timed out waiting for reply from the DynDNS server. Are you able to use DynDNS from routers or other devices on the same network as the RRC uses?
Always include type of hard/software and version when asking for support.

Jan (Microbit)

  • Software Developer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1799
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: DynDNS Status: Error, code 12
« Reply #5 on: 2011-03-07, 10:30:03 »
Here is my error code 8, Jan:

HTTP/1.1 200 OK
Content-Type: text/html
Server: DynDNS-CheckIP/1.0
Connection: close
Cache-Control: no-cache
Pragma: no-cache
Content-Length: 106

73,
Mitch
The 8 error code is more unexpected than others would have been as it means that the TCP/IP stack failed sending a request to the DynDNS server. It should not fail like that, unless there is some network error. Is browsing to the RRC working ok?
Always include type of hard/software and version when asking for support.

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2060
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: DynDNS Status: Error, code 12
« Reply #6 on: 2011-03-07, 10:39:41 »
Yes, I have no problem browsing the RRC.

Note that I have three other devices on the same LAN that are
updating DynDNS using different host names, but the same account.

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX

Jan (Microbit)

  • Software Developer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1799
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: DynDNS Status: Error, code 12
« Reply #7 on: 2011-03-07, 11:34:28 »
Then I feel out of ideas what could be the reason for it to happen. If browsing is ok then TCP as such is working. Strange...
Always include type of hard/software and version when asking for support.

kpgrimes

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: DynDNS Status: Error, code 12
« Reply #8 on: 2011-03-07, 14:57:04 »
If you telnet into the device, it looks like there are two other settings available, one of which points to members.dyndns.org.  I unfortunately don't have the boxes here anymore (boss had to take them to use over the weekend), but I'm wondering if an address had changed somewhere on DynDNS's end.  It looks like there's a setting that lists the server the RRC uses to retrieve its public IP, and a setting that lists the server it tries to connect to to log in to DynDNS.  If either that address has changed, or the way it expects you to log in has changed, that may explain it.

Also, I don't run into any issues using the web UI on the RRC, and I tried the DynDNS client on a windows machine here earlier and it worked normally.
« Last Edit: 2011-03-07, 14:58:48 by kpgrimes »

Jan (Microbit)

  • Software Developer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1799
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: DynDNS Status: Error, code 12
« Reply #9 on: 2011-03-07, 15:39:11 »
Those settings were removed from the web interface since they are supposed to always be the same. The reason they are host names and not IP addresses is that DynDNS might change the IP addresses they "point to". So not getting an answer from "checkip.dyndns.org" or "members.dyndns.org" should not be caused by wrong IP addresses.
Always include type of hard/software and version when asking for support.

kpgrimes

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: DynDNS Status: Error, code 12
« Reply #10 on: 2011-03-07, 21:18:31 »
Do you get a response on those hostnames if you try to ping them from your end?

Jan (Microbit)

  • Software Developer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1799
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: DynDNS Status: Error, code 12
« Reply #11 on: 2011-03-08, 09:12:26 »
Do you get a response on those hostnames if you try to ping them from your end?
I am not sure those addresses are supposed to reply on ping. They seem to be configured to use http. So http://checkip.dyndns.org/ and http://members.dyndns.org give replies accordingly.
Always include type of hard/software and version when asking for support.