Author Topic: IC 706 doing nothing  (Read 5343 times)

DM1CG

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 67
    • View Profile
    • Email
IC 706 doing nothing
« on: 2014-10-09, 18:46:13 »
Hy Guys

my IC706 do not take open a connection to the Radio.
Very easy simple setup.

Reset all units - update to FW 2.8 - give them an IP.
Both in the same range no route or els needed.

Running on a switch , both units avalible on the webinterface.

My cable is tested on the IC706 - running well.
Jumpers on

If a push the power button on the Display - nothing happend.

Wireshark show me also no activity on the network.

Anyone has an idea ?

best 73 de Carsten
DM1CG




DM1CG

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 67
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: IC 706 doing nothing
« Reply #1 on: 2014-10-09, 19:12:49 »
I do some more tests

I see the device make a DNS to remoterig.com  , for what ?

I set the device to DHCP - to see what happend.
A DHCP discover I see - also the DHCP Answer from the DHCP Server , but the device didnt do anything....
Only after sometime a new DCHP Discover ...

?



sm2o

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2886
    • View Profile
    • sm2oan
    • Email
Re: IC 706 doing nothing
« Reply #2 on: 2014-10-09, 20:42:17 »
If nothing happens, you probably have some trouble with the red straps in the Control-RRC. Check the positions and check with an ohm-meter that they are not broken

/mike

Jan (Microbit)

  • Software Developer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1810
    • View Profile
Re: IC 706 doing nothing
« Reply #3 on: 2014-10-10, 08:33:42 »
I see the device make a DNS to remoterig.com  , for what ?
It uses remoterig.com for testing that DNS is working ok by trying to resolve that domain to its IP address.
Always include type of hard/software and version when asking for support.

DM1CG

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 67
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: IC 706 doing nothing
« Reply #4 on: 2014-10-10, 15:21:24 »
Hello Jan & Mike

@DNS -OK

@ red Straps
All is with 0 Ohm  and good.

I have a short with and without the straps between 7 & 8.
MIC GND and GND - looks normal

?
vy 73 de Carsten
DM1CG

« Last Edit: 2014-10-10, 15:23:48 by DM1CG »

sm2o

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2886
    • View Profile
    • sm2oan
    • Email
Re: IC 706 doing nothing
« Reply #5 on: 2014-10-10, 16:34:00 »
That's not a correct strapping for IC-706, check the manual.

http://www.remoterig.com/picturepaster/01c8431d9ca04eddb3a8f06f1cfa08f9.jpg

73 de mike

DM1CG

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 67
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: IC 706 doing nothing
« Reply #6 on: 2014-10-13, 09:14:32 »
Hello

I removed the 2 straps - for photo, what is the error then ?

vy 73 de Carsten


sm2o

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2886
    • View Profile
    • sm2oan
    • Email
Re: IC 706 doing nothing
« Reply #7 on: 2014-10-13, 10:07:44 »
If the settings are correct which they seems to be it's only the cables and the red straps which could be the problem. Are you sure you have counted the pins from the right direction when making the cables ? If you count from wrong direction they work when connecting togehter but not via the RRC.s. If you make the Radio-RRC available over internet, we can test to connect from here to determine if the radio-end is correct, then you know where to start to look.

/micke