Author Topic: Icom IC706MKIIG Access to Initial Setup Menu Problem  (Read 4277 times)

VK6IA

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Email
Hi All,

I have been using Remote Rig with great results for the last year with no issues at all. I have an IC706MKIIGwith the control head in Perth Australia and the radio in the shack in Nottingham England.
I would like to access the Initial setup menu by holding the lock button down and powering up the radio. This will not work no matter how many times I try. The lock button works normally otherwise.

I have 380ms latency between the radio and the control head and over 14500kms. Apart from this one issue the whole station has worked flawlessly with great audio all of the time.

Any ideas on how I can access the initial setup menu while connected via remote rig?

Best 73
Andrew
G5AU / VK6IA

VK6IA

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Icom IC706MKIIG Access to Initial Setup Menu Problem
« Reply #1 on: 2016-07-12, 13:59:15 »
Can anyone with an Icom IC706MKIIG setup confirm they can access the initial set menu while connected via Remote Rig?

I may have to send my spare radio panel to the UK to have it done locally.

Best 73
Andrew
G5AU / VK6IA

sm5bmk

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Icom IC706MKIIG Access to Initial Setup Menu Problem
« Reply #2 on: 2016-07-12, 19:32:21 »
Hej Andrew,

I`m running an Icom 706mark2G via remote rig and i can access to Initial SetUp
without any problem.


Good Luck
73
Anders
SM5BMK

VK6IA

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Icom IC706MKIIG Access to Initial Setup Menu Problem
« Reply #3 on: 2016-07-13, 06:30:35 »
Hi Anders,

Thankyou for your reply. The only thing I can think of is that my latency is too high for this function to work for me. If I ping my remote (radio) IP I have around 360ms round trip time due to distance.
I wonder what your latency is to your radio IP?

Thanks
Andrew
G5AU / VK6IA

sm5bmk

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Icom IC706MKIIG Access to Initial Setup Menu Problem
« Reply #4 on: 2016-07-13, 08:51:36 »
GM Andrew,


abt latency, i have ruffly 35 ms. mobile ISP = Net1.


/Anders
SM5BMK