Author Topic: AS1289 Antenna Switch <Temperature sensor info>  (Read 6040 times)

py2xb

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 34
    • View Profile
    • Email
AS1289 Antenna Switch <Temperature sensor info>
« on: 2020-06-05, 14:07:41 »
As I am not sure where to post this. I am moving the inquire here, hoping that I will get some answer. Many thanks


... I have not found a specific place to post this inquiry. I hope it is ok here.
Per manual a 1wire temperature sensor can be installed to read temperature. Need info on the compatible sensors and how to install it (header, pin..). Many thanks Fred PY2XB....

sm2o

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3007
    • View Profile
    • sm2oan
    • Email
Re: AS1289 Antenna Switch <Temperature sensor info>
« Reply #1 on: 2020-06-05, 15:34:05 »
Here is info

the control card in teh AS-1289 is the same as the WS-1216H

http://www.webswitch.se/wp/?page_id=93

73 de mike

py2xb

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 34
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: AS1289 Antenna Switch <Temperature sensor info>
« Reply #2 on: 2020-06-05, 16:37:27 »
Hi Mie, thanks for stepping in.
Ok now is much clear. I have openned the AS1289 and spotted where the connector/header should be. No connector installed, so I assume I can solder the sensor wires direcltly to the PCB or insert a terminal (6 pin) as in the microswitch. Correct ?
Thanks again Mile

sm2o

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3007
    • View Profile
    • sm2oan
    • Email
Re: AS1289 Antenna Switch <Temperature sensor info>
« Reply #3 on: 2020-06-05, 18:05:18 »
Hi
yes you can solder direkt or put a terminal there, only 2 pins are needed

73 de mike

py2xb

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 34
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: AS1289 Antenna Switch <Temperature sensor info>
« Reply #4 on: 2020-06-05, 18:57:29 »
Thanks Mike

py2xb

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 34
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: AS1289 Antenna Switch <Temperature sensor info>
« Reply #5 on: 2020-06-14, 22:37:23 »
Hi Mike.

I have received the DS18B20 sensor and installed it in the AS1289 properly according to your information. However, I have no readings in the Menu  Temperaure/RH. When I enter there I get : Rescan Temp sensor. When attempting to rescan I get : Rescaning temp sensor on Bus B by reestarting.

I have double checked connections and I have done exactly as described in the manual.

Any light on this ? Thanks Fred

py2xb

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 34
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: AS1289 Antenna Switch <Temperature sensor info>
« Reply #6 on: 2020-06-14, 22:51:33 »
In-time Mike,  as complement of my previous post: Differently then the webswitch , there is no MENU entry to inform what 1wire device one is using. So I assume it  is pre-configured. Is it ? Ciao Fred

sm2o

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3007
    • View Profile
    • sm2oan
    • Email
Re: AS1289 Antenna Switch <Temperature sensor info>
« Reply #7 on: 2020-06-17, 19:58:01 »
Hi
try to connect the sensor to bus B then, you are probably the first who try to use the temp sensor with the antenna switch. At least the first I have heard of

73 de mike

py2xb

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 34
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: AS1289 Antenna Switch <Temperature sensor info>
« Reply #8 on: 2020-06-18, 18:21:09 »
Mike Hello. Thanks. Yes that is where it is, BUS B. However I have tried BUS A as well with same results.
Is the 1wire DS18B20 pre-configure in the firmware ? I found no place where to inform what is connected to Bus B.
Thanks Fred

AD8J

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: AS1289 Antenna Switch <Temperature sensor info>
« Reply #9 on: 2020-06-22, 21:31:33 »
Did you get your temperature switch to work?  I've been using that feature for years.  If you need more information, let me know and I'll look at the connections next time I am at the remote site.  I have the sensor, which looks like a transistor, hanging from the case on a piece of wire.  Only two of the leads are used.

73,  John, AD8J (e-mail OK on QRZ.com)

sm2o

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3007
    • View Profile
    • sm2oan
    • Email
Re: AS1289 Antenna Switch <Temperature sensor info>
« Reply #10 on: 2020-06-23, 18:33:01 »
Hi

I also tested that it works when the 18B20 is connected to bus B. I think he's problem is related to the pirate sensors he uses, we have seen lot of problem with them before

73 de mike

py2xb

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 34
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: AS1289 Antenna Switch <Temperature sensor info>
« Reply #11 on: 2020-06-23, 22:52:17 »
For documentation purposes, let me make  quick summary about the private emails I have exchanged with Mikael.

First of all, this post is related to the "Antenna Swich AS 1289"  not the the Webswitch. Mikael explained that the control board is the same.  However, of course,  the firmware is different.
I checked with him that I have corretly connected the sensor to Bus B. The AS1289 comes without connector for this purpose. I have soldered a connector to make the sensor connection easier.

Mikael tested the sensor in-house and he confirmed it should work. However it did not work for me. So the conclusion is that I am using a counterfeit DS18B20, which seems not to be 100% adehent to the specifications. Per Mikael explanation, a real Dallas device must be used.

I checked on the Internet that the majority of devices offered on eBay, Alliexpress and similar are chinese counterfeit DS18B20.

Well, at this point I am in a quest to find a real DS18B20, which seems only to be available in the distrubutors like Digikey & Mouser, far from my reach.

John (AD8J) thanks for your input. Mikael, I really appreciated your attention to this matter. Fred PY2XB