Author Topic: Help with configuring IC-7100 with Remoterig  (Read 1680 times)

G3VKM

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
    • Email
Help with configuring IC-7100 with Remoterig
« on: 2020-10-24, 14:34:04 »
Hi All,

Thanks for letting me join the forum.

I bought an IC-7100 back in May, it's a great radio but I had very little success with the RS-BA1 software. After a break of some months I decided to get a pair of new Remoterig boxes and try again! The boxes arrived yesterday and I soon had both of them talking to my home network via the router. What I don't seem to be able to do is connect the two boxes together, I get no "power on" from the radio control head at the house.

According to the manual, the status page in the MicroBit set-up manager program should show me a "Connect" button but this isn't present on either the radio box or the control box menus.  Anyone on the forum who could talk me through setting up? I am confident that I have the internal links and jumpers set correctly and both boxes are version 7, which I am told is the latest edition. I want to use a basic set-up, just the radio in the outdoor shack with 30m CAT-6 cable to the house where the radio control head will be located. Not interested in using the system over the internet until I get the basic station going.

73

Roger/G3VKM - Norfolk, England.

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2212
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: Help with configuring IC-7100 with Remoterig
« Reply #1 on: 2020-10-24, 18:00:45 »
Roger,

I am personally not familiar with the 7100, but maybe I can help......

Looking at the manual, I see that pressing the power button on the control panel should turn on the rig and
no button on the web page is necessary. Could you please press the power button and let us know what the
RRC's should in the status section for errors?

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX

G3VKM

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Help with configuring IC-7100 with Remoterig
« Reply #2 on: 2020-10-25, 10:00:46 »
Hi Mitch,

Pressing the power button on the IC-7100 control lead does nothing, the radio doesn't power up. The yellow LED on the Control RRC starts flashing and stays like that until I power down/up the RRC. The green power LED is steady after a few seconds at power-up.

Any advice much appreciated,

73

Roger/G3VKM

G3VKM

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Help with configuring IC-7100 with Remoterig
« Reply #3 on: 2020-10-25, 10:02:07 »
Sorry! For "lead" read "head"!

Roger

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2212
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: Help with configuring IC-7100 with Remoterig
« Reply #4 on: 2020-10-25, 10:03:04 »
Hi Roger,

I need to know what the status page on the RRC's say when you try that.

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX

G3VKM

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Help with configuring IC-7100 with Remoterig
« Reply #5 on: 2020-10-25, 11:30:21 »
Hi Mitch,

OK, nothing changes on the Status page of either of my RRCs when I press the power button on the IC-7100 control head.

73

Roger/G3VKM

dj0qn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2212
    • View Profile
    • DJ0QN / K7DX
    • Email
Re: Help with configuring IC-7100 with Remoterig
« Reply #6 on: 2020-10-25, 11:32:26 »
Hi Roger,

Then something is wrong in the RRC configuration. It should show some kind of error message if you have things setup correctly.

Drop me a short mail at dj0qn (at) darc (dot) de and I will send you my networking checklist to help you set things up correctly.

73,
Mitch DJ0QN / K7DX

G3VKM

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Help with configuring IC-7100 with Remoterig
« Reply #7 on: 2020-10-25, 12:09:54 »
OK Mitch,

e-mail sent.

73

Roger/G3VKM