Author Topic: Icom IC-7100 CW not working  (Read 5735 times)

pilkvam

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Icom IC-7100 CW not working
« on: 2014-06-05, 16:14:27 »
Hi,

Running a Icom IC-7100 remotely.
Cannot get the radio to key up in CW mode.
I have sidetone on Control side.

When I pull the cable on Radio side, there is life - so using a key directly to the radio works.
Seems like CW is not generated out of PAD port to the Radio.
At control side I both use a bencher via Pad port and N1MM to generate CW via I/O port.
Both does not key up the radio.
Per manual menu in radio is set to straight key.
Using internal Memory Keyer in radio does send CW.

This solution worked 100% in an TS-480s environment.
I just re-strapped and used the same cable for CW-keying at Radio side for IC-7100 usage

Everything else works like a dream - also CW-keying via control-head. But. latency will some time make it difficult.

What am I missing here?


Per
la7dha


sm2o

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2856
    • View Profile
    • sm2oan
    • Email
Re: Icom IC-7100 CW not working
« Reply #1 on: 2014-06-08, 10:36:13 »
you can use exactly the same settings for CW for both TS-480 and IC-7100, so if it doesn't work it's beacuse of the settings in the radio

/mike

pilkvam

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Icom IC-7100 CW not working
« Reply #2 on: 2014-06-10, 16:07:26 »
Many thanks Mike,  for the suggestion.

Yes, I would also believe so - but, so far no luck.

If I can ask - If any of the straps or dip-switches on remote should be wrong - which one should I check first?
Non technical help on my remote site, so I need to be precise if I should have the Radio-RRC checked.

I also have thought about resetting the whole system, but then I need USB attached at the Radio-RRC.
This since when I shourtcut the CW-lead from Radio-RRC to CW-key input on the radio, CW is generated successfully.
This is the reason why it seems like CW is not generated out of the pad-connection at Radio-RRC.

best regards

Per
la7dha

pilkvam

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Icom IC-7100 CW not working
« Reply #3 on: 2014-06-10, 22:23:46 »
Found the problem.
 ::)

Went over config again..
IN0 mode in IO Settings was set to Keyer. It works for TS-480. Does not work for IC-7100
Set it per manual - to I/O for IN0 both in Control and Radio.

So, I'm still a very happy RRC-user :-)

73's

Per

lx1no

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • mostly CW
    • View Profile
Re: Icom IC-7100 CW not working
« Reply #4 on: 2021-12-01, 12:09:46 »
I'm having the same issue as the one reported. Everything seems to work but CW using the internal RRC-control keyer. I plugged the paddle into PAD in RRC-control and run a cable from RRC-radio PAD to the IC-7100 back-plane connector. I played with several settings on both RRCs but it won't key the radio. CW tone is generated on the control side.
 
Any chance to go through the configuration with me to find the culprit setting?


73 Norby

KP3N

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: Icom IC-7100 CW not working
« Reply #5 on: 2021-12-18, 19:26:38 »
Having The same issue.  I've tried all the setting and none seem to work.   I hear the keyer but no transmit from the radio.  If I connect my paddle to the radio head it does transmits.  What am I doing wrong?

Thanks

sm2o

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2856
    • View Profile
    • sm2oan
    • Email
Re: Icom IC-7100 CW not working
« Reply #6 on: 2021-12-18, 19:38:16 »
Hi

It's quite simple not many questions about that.

if you hear the side tone the Control-RRC settings are OK

In the Radio-RRC at the IO-settings page set the Out2 = keyer and connect a 3.5 mm stereo cable from the PAD jack to the straight Key jack on the radio

73 de mike

KP3N

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: Icom IC-7100 CW not working
« Reply #7 on: 2021-12-19, 05:04:53 »
Thank you Mike!

I found what my issues was....  When I left the remote location I took a bunch of cables with me, one of them was the 3.5mm PAD cable to the radio.  Plug it in and all is working now.  The issue was the operator!!!!  lol

73 de KP3N