Author Topic: How do control and radio unit find each other on IP level?  (Read 4068 times)

HenkC

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
    • Email
The manual states :
12. Now try to establish the connection between the Control-RRC and the Radio-RRC.

The question is how to achieve that?

I do have a K3/0 and K3s. Initially all worked OK and remote-control in my own LAN worked fine.
Control 192.168.2.30, Radio 192.168.2.2

Now I want to change the IP address of the Radio unit to a higher number. (out of my DHCP range)
However, when I do that and allocate e.g. 192.168.2.33 the units cannot find each other anymore.
Access to each unit via the web-interface works ok.

Power on/off, reset of my router, etc. nothing changes. The Control unit still displays :" Other party 192.168.2.2 ".

So how can I force (one of?) the units to scan the IP range so they can find one another again?

73 Henk

PS when I change back to 192.168.2.2 all works fine, as before. Using firmware 2.95.

 

« Last Edit: 2020-11-26, 10:22:16 by HenkC »

sm2o

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3020
    • View Profile
    • sm2oan
    • Email
Re: How do control and radio unit find each other on IP level?
« Reply #1 on: 2020-11-26, 10:54:32 »
it's the netmask settings which decide what ip range you can reach, if you have set 255.255.255.0 you can reach the hole range from 192.168.2.1 to 192.168.2.255. You just have to change the SIP-contact /own Hostname to 192.168.2.33 so the control-rrc know who to make connection with the radio-rrc

73 de mike

HenkC

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: How do control and radio unit find each other on IP level?
« Reply #2 on: 2020-11-26, 11:15:20 »
Hi Mike,

Thanks for the fast reply.
The SIP change did the trick!

I totaly overlooked that possibility. Learning all the time...

73 Henk