Author Topic: Intermittent low level TX audio IC-7100  (Read 3737 times)

G3TKF

• View Profile
    • Email
Intermittent low level TX audio IC-7100
« on: 2021-04-11, 01:23:12 »
Hi all

I've been using the RR-1258 for nearly 3 years now with my IC-7100 but recently started to lose transmit audio on SSB and FM.

Tx audio (SSB and FM) dissappeared 6 times during a 3 hr VHF (50Mhz) contest tonight. Using N1MM as logger and controlling radio , head in the home shack and body of radio at remote.

When the fault is on, audio sometimes can JUST be heard with a low level clicking (almost a purring sound). The low level audio obviously producing very low RF output on SSB.
Deviation on FM is also very low or non existant in the fault condition .
I have changed the IC 7100 radio as I have a spare - both ends ...the fault still occurs.
I've changed the microphone.
No issues on Data or CW. It's as though the radio "Data Off Mod" is switched to USB and not MIC - it's NOT though!
Resetting either control or radio resolves the problem for around 5 or 6mins then the problem re occurs. ... switching off the remote 12v does the same.

Without the fault, the system works very well.

It's beginning to look like a RR-1258 unit fault (snr 11960) but would love some advice.

Any ideas greatfully accepted !!

Robin
G3TKF

sm2o

• Administrator
    • View Profile
    • sm2oan
    • Email
Re: Intermittent low level TX audio IC-7100
« Reply #1 on: 2021-04-11, 09:23:34 »
I have never heard that this have happen before. A few times codec settings has changed to 0 and the user says he has not change anything, but then it has been permanent. reset does not help, the setting must be changed back and stored. If this happen again, look at the codec settings in the RRCs. You can also try to change RTP tx mode to "continuous" in the Control-RRC then no writing is done to the codecs when shifting from RX to TX.

73 de mike

G3TKF

• View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #2 on: 2021-04-12, 15:28:08 »