Author Topic: K3/o mini 3 tone error on power on  (Read 592 times)

hughbradley

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
K3/o mini 3 tone error on power on
« on: 2023-02-13, 22:48:33 »
When I connect the k3/0 mini and power on I get a continuous 3 tone error code[ payaing repeatedly.
All cables are correct.
Does anyone have any ideas what might be wrong?

Thanks
Hugh EI9KF

W1UE

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 131
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: K3/o mini 3 tone error on power on
« Reply #1 on: 2023-02-14, 12:57:07 »
It sounds normal.  Its a signal for no internet or no connection to a radio.  If you're trying to
access a shared station, someone else may already be connected,

Dennis W1UE

hughbradley

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: K3/o mini 3 tone error on power on
« Reply #2 on: 2023-02-14, 20:41:31 »
I have both  K3/0 mini and the K3 on the same network. So the 3 tone error on the K3/0  means that they are not connecting. Both units have a local IP and are linked to the same switch.  Is there any special consideration in the settings when the units are on the same network?
Thanks   Hugh EI9KF

W1UE

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 131
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: K3/o mini 3 tone error on power on
« Reply #3 on: 2023-02-15, 12:00:31 »
when on the same network, I've found it works best if there is no DDNS.  Use the IP address of the unit that you are trying to connect to.  If you have a DDNS and password, before you change it make sure and write both of them down and save them somewhere.  Or, if you have an available profile, make a different profile for local IP usage.

Dennis w1uE