Author Topic: Squeal/noise when activating PTT at Radio Site  (Read 2367 times)

Serge_VA3SB

• View Profile
    • Email
Squeal/noise when activating PTT at Radio Site
« on: 2021-04-03, 22:58:19 »
Hello to the group.

I have been experiencing an issue for quite some time while trying to operate SSB.
I operate a pair of RemoteRig boxes with a K3s/KPA500/KAT500 at my remote station site. I operate a K3/0 on the control side (city). Not a high powered station but it does play well and I have fun. SInce we are not into the third phase of the pandemic I thought of operating more SSB contests from the stations as I am primarily a cw/rtty operator.

The issue I have been wrestling with is that whenever I activate the remote K3s from my control K3/0 for SSB, I experience a "squeal/noise" whether I have audio or not. I have attached a sound file for your info recorded yesterday. I have another receiver at the site and use it along with RemoteHam software to record the output of my K3s station. This recording is of me only hitting my foot switch PTT three times without transmitting any audio. This was recorded at the 10W output level of the K3s.

I have checked and rechecked my settings and jumpers in the RRC control side box, I will be checking the red straps in the Radio Side RRC as well as the power supply (Thank you Mitch, K7DX) when I next get a chance to visit the remote station. I have also made sure that the settings are consistent with what the K3s manual indicates for Mic gain as well as compression but have not been able to find a solution. I am using a Heil  Pro 7 headset and the problem is still there if I connect it directly to the K3/0 without connection to the shack computer. As the recording indicates, the problem is there irrespective of whether there is audio or not. I get the problem whether I use the amplifier (500 Watts) or barefoot even at the 5 – 25 watt levels. The intensity does not appear to change at all with power level.